Randy Waldrum names ten NWFL Premiership players in Nigeria’s provisional Summer Series squad


Edo Queens captain Gloria Ogbonna and nine other NWFL Premiership players have been included in Nigeria’s provisional 25-player squad for the upcoming Summer Series tournament, which will hold from June 10 to 17.
The list comprises four Bayelsa Queens players — Abidemi Ibe, Celine Ottah, Amanda Mbadi and Joy Bokiri.

Edo Queens captain Gloria Ogbonna in NWFL Premiership action

Sunshine Queens’ duo Esther Ogbonna and Oluwatosin Dihemin are also named in the squad, as rewards for their outstanding performances during the NWFL Premiership Championship Play-off.
As expected, Barcelona Femení’ striker Asisat Oshoala — who made history on Sunday by becoming the first African to win the UEFA Women’s Champions League — is in the list, but Pitea IF forward Anam Imo is left out.

Paris FC first-choice goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie; FC Minsk defender Onome Ebi; Eskilstuna duo Ngozi Okobi and Halimatu Ayinde; as well as Madrid CFF trio Chidinma Okeke, Osinachi Ohale and Rita Chikwelu all make the cut.
Two players will be left out of the final squad list for the four-team tournament that will also feature hosts USA, Portugal and Jamaica.
Nigeria will kick off their Summer Series campaign with a fixture against Jamaica at BBVA Stadium, Houston, on June 10.
Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC),
Tochukwu Oluehi (CD Pozoalbense), Inyene Etim (Abia Angels)
Defenders: Onome Ebi (Minsk FC), Gloria Ogbonna (Edo Queens), Osinachi Ohale (Madrid CFF), Oluwatosin Dimehin (Sunshine Queens), Chidinma Okeke (Madrid CFF), Abidemi Ibe (Bayelsa Queens), Patricia George (Sands FC), Esther Ogbonna (Sunshine Queens)
Midfielders: Rita Chikwelu (Madrid CFF), Ngozi Okobi (Eskilstuna FC), Celine Ottah (Bayelsa Queens), Halimatu Ayinde (Eskilstuna FC), Oyedupe Payne (Sevilla FC), Amanda Mbadi (Bayelsa Queens)
Forwards: Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona Femení’), Vivian Ikechukwu (Rivers Angels), Uchenna Kanu (Linkopings FC), Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid Femenino), Francisca Ordega (Levante), Gift Monday (FC Robo Queens), Joy Bokiri (Bayelsa Queens), Charity Adule (SD Eibars FC)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *