Ademola Lookman included in Nigeria’s 25-man squad for World Cup play-off

Leicester City loanee Ademola Lookman has been handed a first call-up to the Nigeria squad by Augustine Eguavoen for the Super Eagles’ 2022 World Cup final qualifying round, two-legged fixture with Ghana.
Cleared to play for Nigeria after completing his international switch last month, Lookman — who represented England at junior level — has been listed in a 25-man squad that also includes fellow Leicester players Wilfred Ndidi and Kelechi Iheanacho and four other Premier League stars.

Augustine Eguavoen has named a strong squad for the play-off

Eguavoen has also given a first call-up to FC Copenhagen midfielder Akinkunmi Amoo, while Oghenekaro Etebo has been recalled.
Etebo returns to the national side after a long injury that ruled him out of the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations.
Also making returns to the team are Al-Hilal forward Odion Ighalo and Watford talisman Emmanuel Dennis, who were both prevented from representing Nigeria at the 2021 AFCON in Cameroon by their respective clubs.
Odion Ighalo - 234football
Odion Ighalo returns to the national set-up after a three-year hiatus

Ighalo had announced his international retirement after the 2019 AFCON in Egypt but chose to end his  three-year hiatus in order to feature for his country at the biennial tournament. However, he was not named in the Nigeria roster following Al-Shabab’s refusal to release him.
The returns of the former Manchester United man and Dennis to the team will boost the entire forward line.
Nigeria will face Ghana at Cape Coast Sports Stadium on March 25, before returning to Moshood Abiola Stadium for the second leg, four days later.
The Full Squad
Maduka Okoye, Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi
William Troost-Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo, Leon Balogun, Ola Aina, Semi Ajayi, Calvin Bassey, Zaidu Sanusi, Abdullahi Shehu
Wilfred Ndidi, Frank Onyeka, Oghenekaro Etebo, Joe Aribo, Akinkunmi Amoo
Ahmed Musa, Samuel Chukwueze, Kelechi Iheanacho, Moses Simon, Odion Ighalo, Sadiq Umar, Emmanuel Dennis, Victor Osimhen, Ademola Lookman
Chidozie Awaziem, Jamilu Collins, Chidera Ejuke, Taiwo Awoniyi, Paul Onuachu, Ogenyi Onazi, Peter Olayinka

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *