AFCON qualifiers: Ojo, Sochima earn Nigeria call-ups for Sierra Leone tie

Enyimba goalkeeper Olorunleke Ojo has been named in Jose Peseiro’s 23-man Nigeria squad for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations qualifying game against Sierra Leone, along with Rivers United’s Victor Sochima.

The two goalkeepers, who are representing their respective clubs at the Nigeria Premier League championship play-off, currently rank among the top five goalkeepers in the Nigerian top-flight.

Victor Sochima impressed in the Confederation Cup

Many would raise eyebrows over Sochima’s inclusion, though, after the goalkeeper conceded two cheap goals against Remo Stars in the NPL championship play-off.

Divine Nwachukwu has scored twice already at the NPL championship play-off

The goalkeepers are not the only NPL stars named in the squad, however — Bendel Insurance midfielder Divine Nwachukwu and Rivers United’s Ebube Duru have also been included.

But Francis Uzoho — who was in goal in the home-and-away fixtures against Guinea Bissau— and Giant Brillars youngster Chijioke Aniagboso have both been left out.

Royale Union Saint Gilloise forward Victor Boniface — named in the Europa League team of the season — and Gent forward Gift Orban have also been overlooked by Peseiro.

Victor Osimhen was named best Serie A striker of the 2022-23 season after netting 26 goals to help Napoli win the Serie A title

As expected, Victor Osimhen is included in the squad, following a campaign that saw him net 26 goals to help Napoli scoop the Scudetto.

Despite not impressing in the colors of his Turkish club Sivasspor in recent times, Ahmed Musa has been picked, and so has in-form Nottingham Forest forward Taiwo Awoniyi.

Moses Simon and Zaidu Sanusi are in the squad for the Sierra Leone fixture

The game against the Leone Stars is scheduled to hold at Samuel Doe Stadium, Monrovia, on 18 June.

Originally due to be played in Free Town, the tie was moved to Liberia after no stadium in Sierra Leone was deemed good enough for international football by Confederation of African Football.


Goalkeepers: Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel); Victor Sochima (Rivers United); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Calvin Bassey (Ajax FC, The Netherlands); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany); Chidiebube Duru (Rivers United); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey)

Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Divine Nwachukwu (Bendel Insurance); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

Forwards: Moses Simon (Nantes FC, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *