U-20 AFCON: Bosso invites 35 players to camp

Head Coach of Nigeria’s Under-20 national team, Isah Ladan Bosso, has invited 35 players to resume camping in Abuja on Monday, as the team intensify preparations for the 2023 Africa U-20 Cup of Nations.

Goalkeeper Nathaniel Nwosu, who is also the first choice for the under-23 team, tops the roster alongside midfielder Daniel Daga and forward Promise Bernard.

Flying Eagles during a preparatory game in Abuja

Training sessions will commence on Monday, January 16, as Bosso looks to submit his final 21-man squad to the Confederation of African Football (CAF), latest January 20.

The team will depart for Morocco for final camping at the end of the month, in a bid to acclimatise to the wintry weather conditions, which is similar to the host nation, Egypt.

Record seven-time champions, Nigeria will face host nation, Egypt, Senegal and Mozambique in Group A of the 12-nation tournament taking place in the cities of Cairo, Alexandria and Ismailia from February 19 to March 11.

Four semi-finalists at the continental championship, will fly Africa’s flag at the 23rd edition of the FIFA U-20 World Cup in Indonesia, from May 20 to June 11, 2023.


Goalkeepers: Nathaniel Nwosu (Water FC); Chijioke Anigboso (Giant Brillars); Saheed Akanbi (Adoration FC); John Otunbulon (Mavloon FC)

Defenders: Benjamin Frederick (Nasarawa FC); Adedoyin Odole (36 Lions); Daniel Bamaiyi (YumYum FC); Femi Abubakar (Madiba FC); Nathaniel Tambe (Box2Box FC); Solomon Agbalaka (Broad City); Aminu Yusuf (Lobi Stars); Hassan Shaibu (Smart City); Augustine Njoku (Abia Warriors)

Midfielders: Daniel Daga (Dakkada FC); Ogbelu Onoche (Nasarawa United); Frederick Godwin (City FC); Jonathan Nicholas (Simoiben FC); Muhammad Aminu (Mailantarki FC); Shatima Umar; Abdulrahman Adam (Mahaniam FC); Caleb Ochedikwu (Mavloon FC); Ibrahim Yahaya (Mailantarki FC); Bilyaminu Musa (Mailafia FC); Musa Usman (Mailantarki FC)

Forwards: Jude Sunday (Real Sapphire FC); Ifesinachi Obiakwu (36 Lions); Adams Olalekan (Remo Stars); Emma Ochegbu (Plateau United); Haliru Sarki (Maikunkele FC); Christogonus Ibe (Chukwuebuka FC); Faruk Salami (Ikorodu City); Segun Otusanoya; Ayuba Francis (Nasarawa United); Promise Bernard (FAME FC); Shatima Abani (Plateau United)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *