Simeon Nwankwo, four NPFL players named in Nigeria’s squad for Cameroon friendly

Nigeria head coach Gernot Rohr has named Simeon Nwankwo, Ahmed Musa, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, as well as Enyimba duo of John Noble and Anayo Iwuala in Nigeria’s 31-man provisional squad for the upcoming friendly with Cameroon.

In-form Crotone striker Simeon Nwankwo gets his first international call-up in more than two years

For Crotone striker Nwankwo, it’s a first call-up since September 2018.
There’s also a return to the Super Eagles fold for Kelvin Akpoguma after a lengthy injury lay-off, as well as Peter Olayinka, who’s been overlooked by the Nigeria boss since making his debut in a 1-1 draw against Brazil on 13 October 2019.
CD Fereinse midfielder Abraham Marcus earns a debut call-up.
Expectedly, Genk forward Paul Onuachu and Napoli striker Victor Osimhen are both included in the list that is expected to be trimmed to 23 before the team leaves for Vienna.
Napoli striker Victor Osimhen recently increased his Serie A goals tally to 10

Sadiq Umar, who missed March’s AFCON qualifying games against Benin and Lesotho owing to Covid-19 fears, has been handed another opportunity to make his first appearance for the three-time African champions.
The friendly with the Indomitable Lions will hold in Vienna on June 4, and it’ll be the the first meeting between the two sides since the last AFCON in Egypt.
The Full Squad
Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam)
Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia)
John Noble (Enyimba)
Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland)
William Troost-Ekong (Watford)
Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes)
Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista)
Jamilu Collins (Paderbon)
Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto)
Ola Aina (Fulham)
Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente)
Semi Ajayi (West Brom)
Kelvin Akpoguma (Hoffenheim)
Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City)
Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray,)
Abdullahi Shehu (Omonia Nicosia)
Joe Aribo (Rangers)
Abraham Marcus (CD Fereinse)
Ahmed Musa (Kano Pillars)
Moses Simon (Nantes)
Alex Iwobi (Everton)
Simeon Nwankwo (Crotone)
Victor Osimhen (SS Napoli)
Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City)
Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal)
Sadiq Umar (Almeria)
Terem Moffi (Lorient)
Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray)
Anayo Iwuala (Enyimba)
Peter Olayinka (Slavia Prague)
Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *