NWFL Premiership Super Six Tournament: venue and dates confirmed

The Nigeria Women’s Football League has confirmed that NWFL Premiership Super Six tournament will take place at Dipo Dina Stadium from April 19 to April 25.
The tournament, which has adopted the round robin format, will feature the top six teams after Wednesday’s Round 13 matches — Bayelsa Queens, Rivers Angels, Delta Queens, Sunshine Queens, FC Robo and Edo Queens.

The NWFL Premiership season was due to end on July 17 but with the CAF Women’s Champions League qualifiers scheduled to hold in May, the league body and all 14 clubs chose to bring the campaign to an early conclusion — with the Super Six tournament to determine the league winners who will go on to represent Nigeria at the qualifiers.

Draws for the competition will be held on April 18 and each matchday will feature three games.
There will be five matchdays, with each of them featuring three games.
The top team will represent Nigeria at the CAF Women’s Champions League qualifiers (West Africa Zone) — which is scheduled to hold in May — and also crowned NWFL Premiership champions.
Meanwhile, a venue and date have yet to be decided for the relegation play-offs, which will determine the two bottom teams that will drop into the NWFL Championship.
NWFL Premiership Super Six Schedule
April 19 – Matchday 1
April 20 – Matchday 2
April 21 – Break
April 22 – Matchday 3
April 23 – Matchday 4
April 24 – Break
April 25 – Matchday 5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *