Olayinka, Onyeka score as FC Midtjylland seal historic UEFA Champions League group stage qualification


Slavia Prague’s Peter Olayinka celebrates after scoring against FC Midtjylland on 30 September 2020

Peter Olayinka and Ogochukwu Onyeka were both on target as FC Midtjylland reached the UEFA Champions League group stage for the first time in their history, following a dramatic win over Slavia Prague on Wednesday.
Despite going behind after just three minutes, Wolves rallied back in the second-half to beat Slavia Prague 4-1 in the second leg of the playoff game at MCH Arena — to become the first Danish club to secure group-stage spot since FC Copenhagen in 2016.
The reverse leg had ended goalless in Prague, but Jindřich Trpišovský’s side looked to be on the road to the group stages when Olayinka volleyed in from close range after his initial volley was blocked.
Sory Kaba then drew the hosts level in the 65th minute with a brilliant header off a cross from Australia international Awer Mabil.
With the score at 1-1, Slavia Prague were still in the tournament — but Midtjylland stepped up their efforts in the final seven minutes to score three more goals to relegate Červenobílí to the Europa League.
In the 84th minute, a VAR-check on a handball led to a penalty for Midtjylland. Kaba missed his spot-kick, but the Danish side were ordered to retake the penalty — after VAR deemed Ondrej Kolar to have left his goal line too quickly — and Alecander Scholz put away the second attempt.
Onyeka increased the lead to 3-1 four minutes later. The 22-year-old, who received his first Nigeria call-up for the upcoming friendlies against Algeria and Tunisia, won possession before firing in a first-time shot after a one-two with Anders Dreyer.
And in stoppage time, Anders Dreyer turned from provider to scorer, smashing home a volley to send the Midtjylland bench into raptures.
Wolves will know their Champions League group opponents when UEFA conduct the draws later today.
The Danish champions are in pot 4, alongside Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS), Olympique Marseille (FRA),Club Brugge (BEL), Borussia Mönchengladbach (GER), İstanbul Başakşehir (TUR), Rennes (FRA) and Ferencváros (HUN).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *