Gent duo Orban and Torunarigha get Nigeria call-ups

Gent’s Gift Orban and Jordan Torunarigha have been handed debut call-ups to the Nigeria team along with Bayer Leverkusen’s Victor Boniface for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against Sao Tome & Principe, which is scheduled to hold in Uyo on Sunday.

Orban is included in the squad of players following brilliant Uefa Conference League and Belgian Pro League campaigns.

Torunarigha — Gent’s first-choice left-sided centre-back — makes the list after switching his allegiance to Nigeria.

Jordan’s father Ojokojo represented Nigeria in the 1990s

Born in Germany, the defender — whose father Ojokogo played for Nigeria in the 1990s — represented the country of his birth at youth level before playing for their Olympic team in 2021.

Bayer Leverkusen new signing Boniface — who has scored four goals in three Bundesliga appearances since joining Die Werkself in the summer from Union Saint-Gilloise — also makes the 23-man list for the tie against the island country.

Serie A players, Ademola Lookman, Tyronne Ebuehi, Samuel Chukwueze and Victor Osimhen, as well as Boavista midfielder Bruno Onyemaechi, are all in the squad, but there is no place for Alex Iwobi, Bright Samuel-Osayi and Kenneth Omeruo.

Cardiff defender Jamilu Collins has been recalled to the team after more than a year’s absence.

Nigeria, who are already through to the finals, will be led by Jose Peseiro, who extended his Super Eagles contract last week.

The Full List

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC), Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba), Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest) Tyronne Ebuehi (Empoli), Jordan Torunarigha (KAA Gent), William Ekong (PAOK), Semi Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion), Calvin Bassey (Fulham), Jamilu Collins (Cardiff), Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City), Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge), Joe Aribo (Southampton), Frank Onyeka (Brentford)

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City), Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan), Moses Simon (FC Nantes), Ademola Lookman (Atalanta), Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC), Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest), Gift Orban (KAA Gent), Victor Boniface (Bayern Leverkusen)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *