World Cup Qualifiers: Bordeaux star Samuel Kalu a surprise inclusion in Nigeria’s 30-man list for Liberia, Cape Verde ties


Nigeria head coach Gernot Rohr has named his 30-man squad for next month’s matches against Liberia and Cape Verde, with Samuel Kalu a surprise addition.
The winger collapsed during Bordeaux’s French Ligue 1 game at Olympique Marseille on August 15.
It is unclear what led to the incident but that was the player’s second collapse on a football pitch. On the eve of Nigeria’s Africa Cup of Nations opener in Egypt back in 2019, the winger was rushed to hospital after collapsing during Nigeria’s training.
Kalu is listed alongside eight Britain-based stars — Kelechi Iheanacho, Wilfred Ndidi, Frank Onyeka, Joe Aribo, Leon Balogun, Alex Iwobi, Oghenekaro Etebo and William Troost-Ekong — who may all miss Nigeria’s trip to Cape Verde if the British government does not grant players travelling to red-list countries quarantine exemptions.
Rohr has recalled a number of Stars — including Daniel Akpeyi, Kenneth Omeruo and Kevin Akpoguma — while there’s a debut call-up for Malmö FF defensive midfielder, Innocent Bonke.
The Super Eagles will kick off their qualifying campaign with a home tie against Liberia at Teslim Balogun Stadium on September 3, before travelling to Mindelo to face Cape Verde three days later.
After the September ties, the team will regroup in October for home-and-away games against Central African Republic.
Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)
Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany)
Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland)
Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Samuel Kalu (FC Bordeaux, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium)
Standby: Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Innocent Bonke (Malmo FF, Sweden); Valentine Ozornwafor (Sporting Charleroi, Belgium); Tyronne Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Kingsley Michael (Bologna FC, Italy)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *