Nigeria winger Victor Moses has been named on an 11-man shortlist to win the 2017 African Footballer of the Year award.
The former Wigan Athletic player has enjoyed a brilliant year, helping Chelsea claim the English Premier League and Nigeria, qualify for next year’s World Cup.
He is the only Nigerian in the running for the award, after William Troost-Ekong – who was named in the initial 30-man shortlist – failed to make the cut.

Moses joins the likes of 2015 winner Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Egypt’s Mohammed Salah and Senegal forward Sadio Mane on the shortlist.
Confederation of African Football (CAF) also named ten players for the Player of the Year (Based in Africa) award, with Nigeria and Al Ahly forward making the shortlist.
The second and final phase will be judged by Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations and ten members from the Independent Media and TV Consultants group.”
For the first time, captains of the senior men’s national teams of the affiliated National Associations will also be involved in decision making process of the African Player of the Year and Player of the Year (Based in Africa).
The Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.
African Player of the Year (alphabetical order)
1. Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Olympique Lyon)
2. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
3. Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord)
4. Keita Balde (Senegal & Monaco)
5. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
6. Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)
7. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & B. Dortmund)
8. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
9. Victor Moses (Nigeria & Chelsea)
10. Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Porto)
11. Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)
Player of the Year (Based in Africa)
1. Achraf Bencharki (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
2. Ahmed Fathi (Egypt & Al Ahly)
3. Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)
4. Aristide Bance (Burkina Faso & El Masry)
5. Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
6. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
7. Jeremy Brockie (New Zealand & Supersport)
8. Junior Ajayi (Nigeria & Al Ahly)
9. Mohamed Ounnajem (Morooco & Wydad Athletic Club)
10. Taha Yassine Khenisssi (Tunisia & Esperance)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *