Chelsea’s Victor Moses, Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi and Mainz’s Leon Balogun have all been named in the Nigeria squad for their 2018 World Cup Qualifier with Zambia.
The trio are part of a 23-man list almost identical to the one that faced Cameroon in a double header earlier this month.
Chippa United goalkeeper, Daniel Akpeyi, who missed the fixtures against Cameroon through injury, returns. But Dele Alampasu loses his place to Plateau United’s Dele Ajiboye.
Henry Onyekuru has been left out once again despite having an impressive start to the season with Anderlecht.
The crucial fixture will hold in Uyo on October 7, and a win will secure Nigeria a place in Russia 2018.
All invited players, according to an official statement, are to report in Uyo on Monday, 2nd October 2017.
•Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Ayodele Ajiboye (Plateau United FC)
•Defenders: William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Elderson Echiejile (Sivasspor FC, Turkey); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England)
•Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey)
•Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Chang Chun-Yatai, China); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Anthony Nwakaeme (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)
•STANDBY: Dele Alampasu (Cesarense FC, Portugal); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Afeez Aremu (Akwa United); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *