Nine Rivers United players called up for Nigeria CHAN qualifying matches

Salisu Yusuf has named nine Rivers United players in Nigeria B team’s 35-man provisional squad for the upcoming African Nations Championship qualifying, two-legged tie against Ghana’s Black Galaxies.


Last season’s Nigeria Professional Football League top scorer Chijioke Akuneto makes the list but his strike partner Ishaq Rafiu—who’s reportedly close to completing a move to Slovenian club Maribo—misses out.

The list also includes six Akwa United stars, four Enugu Rangers players and three players from Plateau United.
Nigeria, who will be looking to qualify for their first CHAN tournament since 2016 — having missed out on the last edition— have also selected Kwara United duo Afeez Nosiru, as well as Remo Stars’ Andy Okpe and Isa Ali after standout seasons.

There are four Enyimba players— Ojo Olorunleke, Tosin Adegbite and Sadiq Abubakar— in the mix.
The winner over two legs will earn a place at the 2022 CHAN, which is scheduled to hold from 8th to 31st January, 2023, in Algeria.

The first leg will hold in Accra on August 28, while the reverse fixture will be played at MKO Stadium six days later.

The Full Squad
Goalkeepers: Victor Sochima (Rivers United); Adeyinka Adewale (Akwa United); Ojo Olorunleke (Enyimba FC); Nathaniel Nwosu (Flying Eagles)

Defenders: Tope Olusesi (Enugu Rangers); Kazie Enyinnaya (Rivers United); Sani Faisal (Katsina United); Samson Gbadebo (Akwa United); Ebube Duru (Rivers United); Christopher Nwaeze (Akwa United); Isa Ali (Remo Stars); Tosin Adegbite (Enyimba FC); Temple Emekayi (Rivers United); Andrew Ikefe (Plateau United)

Midfielders: Babatunde Bello (Akwa United); Philip Ozor (Enyimba FC); Maurice Chukwu (Rivers United); Hafeez Nosiru (Kwara United); Zulkifilu Mohammed (Plateau United); Chiamaka Madu (Rivers United); Jide Fatokun (Kwara United); Kenechukwu Agu (Enugu Rangers); Joseph Onoja (Rivers United); Haggai Katoh (Plateau United); Uche Onwuasonaya (Rivers United)

Forwards: Abdulazeez Yusuf (Gombe United); Sadiq Abubakar (Enyimba FC); Chidiebere Nwobodo (Enugu Rangers); Promise Amadi (Akwa United); Chijioke Akuneto (Rivers United); Valentine Odoh (Abia Warriors); Andy Okpe (Remo Stars); Adams Yakubu (Akwa United); Godspower Aniefiok (Kano Pillars); Ossy Martins (Enugu Rangers)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *