Ajibola Otegbeye scored twice in the second-half to help lift Sunshine Stars to a 3-1 win over Osun United in the quarter-final second leg of the Aiteo Cup, and book the Akure Gunners a place in the semi-finals.
Sunshine Stars headed into the second of the two-legged tie with a disadvantage, having lost 1-0 in the first leg on Wednesday through Tosin Omoyele’s goal.
A lively first-half produced some entertaining football, but neither side could find the back of the net.
Otegbeye broke the deadlock on the hour mark, as he scrambled home from close range following Seun Olulayo’s cross. However, Omoyele silenced the crowd at the Dipo Dina Stadium, Ijebu Ode, when he connected superbly with a cornerkick to score his second goal against Duke Udi’s men in the space of three days, and put his side level.
The referee awarded the hosts a penalty when Chigozie Obasi handled the ball and Sikiru Alimi converted the spot kick to restore the Akure club’s lead.
Otegbeye scored his second of the evening seven minutes from the end of normal time to ensure his side’s progress to the semi-finals. The goal sparked wild celebrations.
Sunshine Stars Starting XI: Henry Ayodele, Seun Olulayo, Alaba Adeniyi (C), Anthony Omaka, Oke Ogagotewho, Nojeem Raji, Kehinde Adedipe (Abiodun Joseph 56′), Ajibola Otegbeye (Rock Durand 89′), Franklin Sasere (Ezekiel Thompson 62′) Dayo Ojo, Sikiru Alimi
Unused Subs: Olumide Akinroyeje, Ezekiel Boboye, Tope Orelope, Kelechi Ogoh
Osun United Starting List:
1. Ayo Ojo 32
2. Obazi Chigozie 1
3. Aleem Adebayo 30
4. Dare Olatunji 27
5. Sunday Afolabi 2
6. Olusola Akilapa 35
7. Chinedu Emmanuel 24
8. Victor Okeji 40
9. Omoyele Tosin 9
10. Jide Fatokun 17
11. Damola Fakayode 11
12. Nurudeen Lateef 16
13. Hakeem Olalere 10
14. Mamud Akorede 19
15. Yusuf Aderemi 21
16. Alaji Rasaq 20
17. Soga Sambo 26
18. Ikenna Ibezim 37

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *